Tom Ford nominatedThe CFDA Board of Directors made the announcement Monday night at the Rooftop Gardens of the Rockefeller Center in an exclusive event underwritten by Swarovski, wherein the 2008 nominees of outstanding achievements in fashion design was made public.

Below is the list of nominees as announced by the Council of Fashion Designers of America:

Womenswear Designer of the Year:

Francisco Costa for Calvin Klein

Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler

Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year:

Michael Bastian

Thom Browne

Tom Ford

Accessory Designer of the Year:

Michael Kors

Tory Birch

Marc Jacobs

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:

Kate and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte

Thakoon Panichgul

Alexander Wang

Swarovski Award for Menswear:

Patrik Ervell

Tim Hamilton

Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders

Source: &